National Service Scheme (NSS)

The National Service Scheme (NSS) is a Central Sector Scheme of the Government of India, Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, launched in the year 1969. Since then, it has been a part of the academic programs at SPPU too. It is a student-cantered program in which projects are implemented by the NSS volunteers in the community in close collaboration with the community and thereby it provides vast scope for the student’s interaction with the people.

The first NSS Unit of Foresight College of commerce was started in the year 2021 with 50 volunteers.

The main objectives of National Service Scheme (NSS) are

  1. Understand the community in which they work
    2. Understand themselves in relation to their community
    3. Identify the needs and problems of the community and involve them in problem solving process.
    4. Develop among themselves a sense of social and civic responsibility,
    5. Utilize their knowledge in finding practical solution to individual and community problems,
    6. Develop competence required for group living and sharing of responsibilities,
    7. Gain skills in mobilizing community participation,
    8. Acquire leadership qualities and democratic attitude,
    9. Develop capacity to meet emergencies and natural disasters and
    10. Practice national integration and social harmony.
Aim of National Service Scheme ‘Development of the Personality of college Students through Community Service’
Motto of NSS ‘NOT ME BUT YOU’ 
Volunteer Duration 2 Years, Special camping (07 days )
Programs Regular activities (community work ); 120 hours in a year

Benefits of Being a NSS Volunteer:

A NSS volunteer who takes part in the community service programme would either be a college level or a senior secondary level student. Being an active member these student volunteers would have the exposure and experience to be the following

  • an accomplished social leader
  • an efficient administrator
  • a person who understands human nature


  • Population Day Programme
  • Workshop on Moral Values
  • Workshop on Value of Education
  • Orientation Programme NSS
  • August Kranti Day Programme
  • My Earth, My Duty’ Programme
  • Street Play on Swine Flu Awareness and AIDS Awareness Programme
  • Indian Red Cross Society Training Course
  • Independence Day Programme
  • Personality Development Programme
  • Roza-Iftar Programme
  • Sadbhavana Rally on Sadbhavna Diwas
  • Leadership Development Programme
  • Tree Plantation Programme
  • Pre R D Selection Workshop
  • Programme on Women Empowerment and Sex Ratio
  • Communal Harmony and National Integration /NRD/SRD Parade
  • Teacher’s Day
  • Police Mitra Training Programme
  • Kannya Ratna Abhiyaan
  • Anti Addiction Workshop
  • Elocution Competition
  • Disaster Management Training
  • Hindi Pakhwada
  • Debate Competition
  • International Literacy Day
  • ‘We are United and We Respect Law’ Programme
  • Radio Mirchi Quiz Programme
  • International Non Violence Day and Gandhi Jayanti
  • Role of NSS Volunteers in National Building
  • Counseling for examination
  • Yuva- Jaagar Abhiyaan
  • Blood Donation Camp
  • Tree Plantation at Khanapur
  • Poster Competition on Environment Awareness
  • Petrolium Conservation and Youth
  • Kaumi Ekta Day
  • Mahatma Phule Punyatithi
  • AIDS Awareness Day
  • Orientation for NSS Special Camp
  • Save Girl-Child
  • NSS Special Camp
  • District Level Elocution Competition on occasion of National Youth Day
  • Participation in Youth Interaction Programme (University Level)
  • Sharamdaan in Foresight College
  • Shivaji Jayanti
  • Ambedkar jayanti
  • Participation in Youth Parliament
  • Participation in an Inter collegiate Elocution Competition
  • Tree Plantation Programme
  • World Brotherhood Day
  • Women’s Day
  • Essay Writing Competition
  • Guest Lecture
  • Iftar Party
  • Eid Milan
  • Diwali Celebration
  • Quiz Competition
  • Swachh Bharat Mission
  • Orphanage visit
  • Old age home visit 
  • Police Mitra
  • Save Fort
  • Say no to Drugs
  • Dental Checkup

College NSS Committee

Sr. No. Name of Faculty Department Designation in NSS Committee
1. (Dr.) M.D.Lawrence Principal Chairman
2. Asst.Prof Armaan Shaikh Commerce Programme Officer
3. Asst.Prof Gauri Jadhav BBA Member
4. Asst.Prof Archana Mhaske BBA(CA) Member
5. Asst.Prof Shilpa Khade BBA Member